The Various Unknowns
Welcome to The Various Unknowns!~
If you're a guest....join please! ^.^ It doesn't take long and it would make us happy.

HomePortalFAQSearchMemberlistUsergroupsRegisterLog in

Share | 

 Subdivisions of England

Go down 
Master Member
Master Member

Number of posts : 360
Warnings :
5 / 55 / 5

Reputation : 0
Points : 4124
Registration date : 2010-09-06

PostSubject: Subdivisions of England   Tue Sep 07, 2010 12:39 pm

The subdivisions of England consist of as many as four levels of subnational division controlled through a variety of types of administrative entities. They have been created for the purposes of local government in England. The highest tier of local government are the nine regions of England—North East, North West, Yorkshire and the Humber, East Midlands, West Midlands, East, South East, South West, and London. These were created in 1994 as Government Offices, used by the British Government to deliver a wide range of policies and programmes regionally.[97] They are used for electing Members of the European Parliament on a regional basis.

After devolution began to take place in other parts of the United Kingdom it was planned that referendums for the regions of England would take place for their own regional assemblies as a counterweight. London accepted in 1998—the London Assembly was created two years later. However, the proposal was rejected by the northern England devolution referendums, 2004 in the North East, further referendums were cancelled.[78] There are plans to abolish the remaining regional assemblies in 2010 and transfer their functions to respective Regional Development Agencies and new system of Local Authority Leaders' Boards

Website Design Company
Web design Sydney
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Subdivisions of England
Back to top 
Page 1 of 1
 Similar topics
» Letters between Pope Paul III and King Henry VIII

Permissions in this forum:You cannot reply to topics in this forum
The Various Unknowns :: New TVUs :: Site Advertising-
Jump to: